Nicholas Woode-Smith
Managing Editor
Nicholas is a co-founder and Managing Editor at the Rational Standard. He is a Council Member of the Institute for Race Relations as well as the Regional Coordinator for African Students For Liberty. He is also a science fiction author, mainly writing the Warpmancer Series.
Martin van Staden

Martin is a co-founder and the Editor in Chief of Martin holds an LL.B. law degree from the University of Pretoria. None of his views or opinions represent those of the organizations with which he is involved. Find more information on his website at

Christiaan van Huysteen
Board Member
Christiaan is the Financial Director of the Rational Standard. He graduated with a degree in accounting from Stellenbosch University. Christiaan is a Libertarian and InfoWarrior.
Daniël Eloff
Daniël is a Senior Staff Writer at the Rational Standard. He is currently part of the Democratic Alliance Young Leaders Programme, co-founded the Tuks Leadership and Individual Program, eCivix and the UP Debatsvereniging. Daniël is currently an academic associate at the University of Pretoria at the Department of Mercantile Law while completing his postgraduate Constitutional- and Cyber Law degree.
Nicholas Babaya
Contributor and Podcast Host
Nicholas is a Senior Staff Writer at the Rational Standard. He is a Local Coordinator for Students For Liberty as well as an organiser of SAFREECON 2017. He takes great interest in the philosophy underlying classical liberal values as well as the Austrian school of economics. He is currently a student at Rhodes University studying towards a BA in Chinese and German.
Mpiyakhe Dhlamini
Mpiyakhe Dhlamini is a Contributor at the Rational Standard and an anarcho-capitalist. He is a former libertarian, and a former socialist. He runs his own web development business, where he’s a full-time freelancer. Mpiyakhe posts about liberty on Facebook as a way of avoiding the frequent bugs in his code.
Johan van der Merwe
Johan is a Staff Writer at the Rational Standard. He is currently serving his articles of clerkship at Haasbroek & Boezaart Attorneys while also completing his postgraduate LLM degree in Constitutional Interpretation and the Rule of Law at the University of Pretoria. He holds an LLB from the same university.
Dr Harald Sitta
Dr Harald Sitta is a Contributor at the Rational Standard. He is an Austrian attorney emeritus and business owner who immigrated to South Africa in 2007. He obtained his law degree 1978 and also earned a post graduate in international relations 1979.
Prof Tim Crowe
Professor Tim Crowe is a descendant of oppressed Irish freedom-fighters from the United States working class. He is a first generation university graduate, non-settler immigrant alumnus, Elected Fellow and emeritus (40 years’ service) professor at the University of Cape Town. He is a Ph.D.-educated expert on evolutionary biology. He has published nearly 300 peer-reviewed scientific papers/books and is regarded as the world’s leading authority on game birds.
Kamogelo Mangena
Kamogelo Mangena is a Contributor at the Rational Standard and a socio-political activist. A commentator on public policy, politics, gender and sexualities, he holds a qualification in public policy as well as gender studies. He is a graduate of numerous leadership programmes including the Programme for Young Politicians in Africa (PYPA). He currently studies political economy.
Anthony Stuurman
Anthony Stuurman (a pen-name) is a regular Contributor at the Rational Standard. The writer is an educator in the Eastern Cape with an interest in neuroscience, ethnobotany and a passion for free speech.
Tim Bester
Tim Bester studied economics, political science and public administration at the University of the Witwatersrand where he also served two terms on the Student Representative Council. Tim is now retired after a successful career in advertising and marketing research.
David Matthews
David Matthews is a Contributor for the Rational Standard, participating in the main debate on the origins and solutions for racism in society.
Ibrahim B. Anoba
Ibrahim B. Anoba is the Acting Executive Director of the African Liberty Organization for Development. He is an African political economy pundit with Washington, D.C.-based Young Voices and presently lives in Lagos, Nigeria. You can follow him on Twitter @Ibrahim_Anoba.
Chris Hattingh
Chris Hattingh is a student of Objectivism and a Researcher at the Free Market Foundation. A passionate advocate for free markets and free minds, Chris holds an MPhil degree from Stellenbosch University.
Lolonga Tali
Lolonga Tali (BA in Education, Postgraduate Diploma in Journalism and MPhil in SA Politics & Political Economy) is a Contributor at the Rational Standard and a regular columnist with the Daily Dispatch. He is currently with Amathole Museum as a Principal Museum Human Scientist. He is a former educator and headmaster.
Belinder Odek
Belinder has a Bsc. in Communication and Journalism from Moi University and a diploma in Public Relations Management from the Kenya Institute of Management. She believes in and advocates pro-liberty policies as a means to socio-economic and political development.
Ed Herbst

Ed Herbst started his news career as a photographer with the Natal Witness in 1968 but quickly switched to reporting while retaining an interest in photography.

He joined the SABC in its Pretoria news office as a camera reporter in 1977, one year after television was introduced in South Africa.

In 1978 he was seconded to the SABC’s Windhoek office for six months to cover the run-up to the country’s UN-monitored election and was then posted to the SABC’s Sea Point news office.

He asked for early retirement in 2005 because of pervasive SABC corruption, news censorship and unaddressed abusive treatment of staff.

From 2007 to 2009 he was employed as a consultant in the media department of the Cape Town municipality but became a pensioner when personal circumstances forced him to retire.

He now writes without remuneration for local websites about the interface between media and politics.

He is writing a book on media capture after 1994.